Painted Lady

I flew off to San Francisco again today. Once we landed and finally got to the hotel there was about an hour before dark. I went out to find food but decided to take a detour to a small park to get some fresh air. There’s nothing like fresh air after being in a long metal tube for 11-12 hours! Plus, there’s a dog park there and I love watching them go crazy playing with all their friends!

I passed this lovely house! One of many like this in the city. They are often called ‘Painted Ladies’. There was a plaque outside with this inscription:

Sloss-Lilienthal House

Circa 1876

This house was constructed in the country’s centennial by Louis Sloss as a wedding gift for his daughter Bella and her husband Ernest Lilienthal. It is a classic example of Italianate architecture with its elegant angled bay windows so characteristic of San Francisco during the ‘Champagne Day’ of the 1870s.

This home built at the peak of the Victorian era has survived the 1906 earthquake and fire and has remained virtually unaltered


More information here.

After my visit to the park I went to Trader Joe’s for snacks (for when I wake up at 3am!), and then went out for a delicious Thai meal near the hotel. I ate outside because now ‘sidewalk dining’ is a thing and I always LOVE to eat outside, pandemic or not! It started to rain but I was under cover so I was ok. Thankfully I wasn’t far from the hotel as I began to run out of steam! It was 9pm by the time I got back to the hotel - 5am in the UK!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.