Snapjax

By Snapjax

Whitby

Woke at 7:01 by the first call of a gull. The sky looked cloudless so decided to leave the cottage while the others slept on.  As I made my way toward the Whale Jaw bones on the West Cliff I was aware that other folk were up and about before me, I smelled bacon cooking and was joined along the way by dog walkers.  It was quite convivial.  The sun was due to rise at 7.50 at 110 degrees southeast, unfortunately that meant it would best seen from the Abbey on the East Cliff, never mind!  I walked down the steps to stroll along the West Pier to the mouth of the harbour.  The tide was on the turn making the flotsam appear undecided whether it wanted to enter the harbour or not. The water was very calm despite the ebb and flow of the tide as it met the river.

From here the silhouetted East Pier was my best shot.  I liked the lone Fisherman enjoying the break of day.

After breakfast we packed up (out by 10am) and made our various journeys home. 

Musicport was lovely, as usual, nice to see old faces!!!  This event was my first big indoor event for two years.  If I get to the end of this week with out falling ill I will be blessed.  Proof of Vaccination or covid-free testing was in place but there was very little mask wearing in The Pavillion, myself included.  Risky behaviour at music festivals used to mean something else entirely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.