Inventions

I have chosen the invention that never ceases to amaze me, the mobile phone.
John Mitchel and Martin Cooper of Motorola in 1973, developed the first truly hand held phone.  It weighed 1.1 kilos and measured 23x13 cms. not easy to hold in the hand. It had a talk time of 30 minutes and took 10 hours to recharge. 
The first smart phone was introduced in 1994 but nothing like as powerful as today's version.  On my phone (which is not a latest model by any means)  I am able to carry all of my books with me as well as my photos.  I can speak to any one in the world, play games, receive messages and texts., and find the answer to most questions. They are in fact computers in your pocket.
I was brought up with no idea that you could have a phone in your house, never mind one you could carry around with you. I remember, when one of my children was ill and needed the doctor to visit I had to wrap them both up warmly and take them to the phone box at the end of the street.  Thank goodness for modern mobile phones I say.
Thank you to Laurie for such interesting topics this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.