Mono Monday - Inventions

I am old enough to have had a cat's whisker radio in my youth, so one of the most astounding  inventions of my life has been the continuous progress in macro circuitry until we have the micro chip of today which is able to compute with sufficient power to vastly supercede the earliest computers.

My very first job after leaving university was in operational research in Joe Lyons headquarters in Hammersmith in London. Adjacent to our office were the very first computers to be developed in the UK - Leos  I -IV and `I remember going in to the large rooms where the computers were housed and marvelling at the hum and throb of their computers. The computers were developed to help Lyons forecast more precisely what their ice cream sales might be as they were very much affected by weather patterns. It just seems incredible to me that such computing power is now housed in a mobile phone or a watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.