Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Train Station

I went to my doctor's office this morning to get my flu jab/shot and whilst twiddling my thumbs in the waiting room I was looking at the various things hanging on the wall. This photograph was one of them. It's the train station in Charlottesville, Virginia - early in the 20th Century, I would guess. In any case - there's a car in the photo and they were invented in the late 19th Century and started to be in general use in the early part of the 20th Century. I have lifted the following from Wikipedia:

The year 1886 is regarded as the birth year of the car when German inventor Karl Benz patented his Benz Patent-Motorwagen. Cars became widely available in the early 20th century. One of the first cars accessible to the masses was the 1908 Model T, an American car manufactured by the Ford Motor Company. Cars were rapidly adopted in the US, where they replaced animal-drawn carriages and carts. In Europe and other parts of the world, demand for automobiles did not increase until after World War II.

Conveniently - the black and white photo fits neatly into Mono Monday! Score!

The train station, by the way, looks rather surprisingly similar today. Much more of a parking lot, of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.