Fired up at work and home

seems my regular partnership work with fire and rescue services has finally paid off….

I was working quietly at home when I became aware of high pitched shrieking, a huge smoke plume and massive-looking conflagration, in the large hedge between me and next door! Seems neighbour accidentally set fire to it with gas-flamed weed wand. Even on a rainy day horrendous how quickly it took hold & threatened property, cars in driveway, car port etc.

Moments later I was hurtling out of the back door and charging round to the front, armed with a primed hose and a determined grimace, soaking the hedge nearest the house and cars first, before tackling the main blaze. Just a couple of minutes later the fire brigade turned up, and took over…well, finished off the job really!! Incredibly swift response, turns out they’d spotted the smoke plume from across the valley, and had started to turn out even before they got the 999 call…and the crew leader admitted one of them had wondered if it had been one of my legendary (but thoughtfully managed!) garden clearance bonfires gone wrong!

Anyway, damage limited to hedge and neighbour’s nerves, seems I’ll be tackling that sooner that I thought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.