NuttinButSquirrels

By SquirrelsEtc

Mono Monday: Week 405 ....

... inventions.

I've been fascinated by castles for some time now ... but even more so since reading a novel by Ken Follett, which took place in the Middle Ages.  I had thought that castles have been around for forever.

But that's simply not the case.  They didn't become popular until the 9th and 10th centuries.  Discussions have typically attributed the rise of the castle to a reaction to attacks by Magyars, Muslims, and Vikings and a need for private defense. It is likely that the castle evolved from the practice of fortifying a lordly home.


I'm sure I could go on and on as there is a lot of information regarding the emergence of the castle ... but I won't. It's technically not an invention but I'm rolling with it! Besides ... I had this castle prop! Please take note of the squirrels feet off the ground!

Thanks to Laurie54 (I hope you are feeling better) for setting up October's Inventions themes ... I've learned a lot during the month.  And to Jensphotos for helping Laurie out this week.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.