Life through the lens...

By ValC

Autumn leaves.

With today’s wind they are falling fast.

I had two lovely emails this morning.
( Neither trying to sell me anything!)
I had decided to ask both the RHS and Leeds Parks department ( Mr C’s idea) if they knew what my mystery tree was.
( see Blip last Thursday) and extra today,
I sent them photos as well.
Both came back to me this morning with exactly the same identification.

Collegiate hystrix ( syn. C. Armata). From Chile, and belongs to the buckthorn family Rhammaceae, distinguished by its exceptionally spiny nature and very reduced leaves. In late summer it produces clusters of small, scented white or pink flowers.
Quite hardy easily grown in a sunny position.
However I don’t think I will be getting one for our small garden.Will just enjoy the one in Golden Acre when we visit again.

After ringing the doctor regarding my wrist, I have an actual face to face appointment this evening! Hope At last I can get it sorted as it is getting more painful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.