helenann

By helenann

Autumn in the Gardens

Today I met two friends at Hilliers Gardens near Romsey. I cycled there which was very pleasant. (It is 10 miles each way which is a doddle on my  e-bike.) We found  these curious looking Collared Earthstars (Geastrum triplex, I think ) in the woodland area. The  soft, globe-like centre is a kind of puff ball,   containing the spores of the  fungus, which are dispersed  through the central opening, when raindrops fall on the  earthstar.
My extras show a collection of Fly Agaric toadstools  (Amanita muscaria) and  a view across the pond, elsewhere in the gardens.
There was a competition for children to find  100 numbered pumpkins scattered throughout  the gardens; we resisted the  temptation  to join in as we had so much catching up to do having not  met for a good six months!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.