Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lone Handed

Out for a walk from Himley with R, firstly along the South Staffordshire Railway Walk towards Brierley Hill.  The track gently climbed throughout this section and we were even joined by a buzzard who kept flying along the path in front of us, under the tree canopy that lines both sides and knits together above.

We then transferred onto the local canal at Ten Pools Nature Reserve, heading down towards the junctions with the Stourbridge and Staffs & Worcester Canals.  We then started the return along the Staffs and Worcester.  This boat was being piloted lone-handed so we did our good deed for the day and closed the lock gates for him.

It was an area I thought I knew well, so I was surprised to come across a stunning garden on the far bank of the canal.  I finally worked out that it was at the back of Ashwood Nurseries.  There was even a sign announcing that you could visit the garden from the nurseries on Saturdays. I did a quick pano which I’ve added as an extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.