Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Stop indeed!

Today has been a strange day. It was the funeral of a member of our congregation. Her children are ages with me, so she was quite elderly and I have known her and them since I was about 11. As a member of the congregation, I was asked to do a reading. My initial response was that the family might prefer somebody a little older, more mature, to do it - a grown up perhaps. I was told, with a wry smile, that I was considered to be a grown-up by most people! I was a little taken aback at this, I hope it doesn't mean I have to be sensible too! It was good to catch up with the family at the reception afterwards, people who remembered not just me but my mum and sisters too.
Back home for just half an hour and then it was time to head out to Ingliston for our third covid vaccine and flu jab. A different part of the Highland Showground this time and a much longer walk from the car park. They were using one of the airport car parks - I guess they are not so much in demand due to the Pandemic. There were only around 15 cars in the whole car park when we arrived and when we went into the Lowland Pavilion we were taken immediately. No time even to sit down to wait to be called. One jab in each arm, Moderna for the booster this time, which is now known as Spikevax apparently.
We were then sent off to the recovery area for our statutory 15 minutes. To our amusement, the person who arrived to sit in the booth next to us was one of our close friends. She too has been keeping an eye on the websites and as soon as her appointment appeared she rearranged it to a closer date. We spent a good 15 bemasked minutes exchanging news and looking at (our) baby pictures. Nice to catch up as we've not seen her, face to face, for ages.
Today is Tuesday so it was our bridge night, Colin had a Vestry meeting this evening so I played the full session, 24 hands, rather than just half - to my delight we won, which was pleasing. The three that we play bridge with, like Joan who we met this afternoon, were at St Andrews with Colin in the '70s. It's great to have regular contact with such long term friends.
Keep safe everyone, it feels really good to have had those two jabs today, but we'll still take care. I'm a great believer in prophylaxis, so we took ibuprofen before our jabs and again at bedtime. All good so far and I'm hoping any reaction or discomfort will be well over by the time I have to head south next week.
Today's blip was taken on the way back from our vaccine appointment. The Christmas lights, not just up, but on, in Corstorphine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.