rower2012

By rower2012

Crescent Honeyeater

We heard this delightful little bird first and finally spotted it (wouldn't you know it) against the light, high up in the tree. Seeing that I had my camera ready with the long zoom lens on it (I was using the 200 mm with extender), I had at least a fighting chance of getting a usable shot.

This was the best of the lot where you can just see his beak and a bit of his eye. I'm really delighted that this is a first for this bird in the BigBlipYear.

We are getting really into bird images now, with Paladian getting a female Eastern Spinebill yesterday. She has wild plans for setting up a bird hide in the shed in the back garden, and I must say, I like the idea myself.

What was even luckier, it was the only bird we saw today in the park, being late afternoon, and the first time I have ever seen this particular type of bird.

The Crescent Honeyeater (Phylidonyris pyrrhopterus) is a passerine bird, of the honeyeater family Meliphagidae, native to south-eastern Australia. A member of the genus Phylidonyris, it is most closely related to the common New Holland Honeyeater (P. novaehollandiae) and the White-cheeked Honeyeater (P. niger).

It is a fairly nondescript bird of dark grey plumage and paler underparts, highlighted by yellow wing patches and a broad, black crescent, outlined in white, down the sides of its breast. The species exhibits slight sexual dimorphism, with the female being duller in colour than the male. Juvenile birds are similar to the female, though the yellow wing patches of male nestlings can be easily distinguished.

The male has a complex and variable song, which is heard throughout the year. It sings from an exposed perch, and during the breeding season performs song flights. The Crescent Honeyeater is found in areas of dense vegetation, as well as heathland, and parks and gardens, where its diet is made up of nectar and invertebrates.

It seems to me that it's safe to assume, that since the Belair National Park is in the Mt. Lofty Ranges, we see here the sub species Phylidonyris pyrrhopterus halmaturinus.

We're planning another safari up there tomorrow (weather permitting) but much earlier in the day, when there are more birds around and less people. Should be fun and maybe I can get a better image of this very shy bird.

More Crescent.

Thanks for all of the stars and comments for my skink yesterday. May I wish all my fellow blippers a very happy, safe and peaceful Easter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.