Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Moth

Identification - Aethaloessa calidalis (thanks to Paladian).

A late safari today, in the hope of some butterfly action. I did get a few images, but this tiny wasp moth was certainly the highlight of the session.

With a wingspan of about 20mm, maybe less, it is easily the smallest wasp moth type I have seen since I started bugging a year and a half ago. At first I thought it was a beetle, as the wing beat was so fast and its flight skills were poor, but once I got up close, it was obviously a wasp moth, which fitted with the poor flight.

Knowing the family of the insect should have made an identification simple, but nothing was found. I checked my usual sources, scrolled down through the Google images, project noah and Flickr and came up dry. Any help finding an ID is welcome as I have a new folder waiting for a title. ID is now solved :)

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.