Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Sumner Stranding

There's been a great deal more movement in my carry-on today, regarding what to post on Blipfoto, than there has been for this yacht.

The early light was superb this morning, so I was down on the beach by 7.15am, taking pics of the beautiful pink sky, the reflections in the sand, the Signal Station on Cave Rock, and also, unsuspectedly, a yacht stranded at the other end of the beach, near Shag Rock at the entrance to the estuary; the notorious Sumner Bar. The police didn't know anything about it, so it remained a mystery until a neighbour told me he thought it had broken free from it's mooring during the king tide last night - which would explain why it seemd to be anchored.That did make sense, as no-one would anchor a boat there. It's far too shallow and the currents are nasty.

So, I was back home by 9.15am to sort out the pink sky, reflections, Cave Rock Signal Station - and the yacht. I just happened to go back down at 5pm, my nosiness getting the better of me, only to see that the yacht had moved a little along the beach, and was in danger of capsizing entirely.

So here we are, an image of the KahuKuru at about 6.15pm this evening. And I still don't know what's happened to it! It looked like a rescue boat had come to try to pull it off, but it just disappeared again.

I wonder if it'll still be there in the morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.