An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

An Abstract Telephoto....

The 'ordinary' blips continue - am concentrating on telephoto shots more of late - viewing everyday scenes and objects from afar.

So dominant is Salisbury's Cathedral Spire, at 404ft, is that it often peeps out and rises above both the surrounding countryside and buildings. I'm sure that the vast majority of the local populace do not continually juxtapose it geometrically with all that it appears alongside as I seem to do but this scene along the front of the local fire station. That Blip was taken using a 10-24mm lens, at night, this the equivalent of 450mm (long end of the Tamron SP 70-300mm), with a small aperture to get all sharp. There's quite a distance between the foreground and the spire, a mile away.

This is the original colour version, cropped quite heavily on the right. A black & white version did not improve on things - subtle tones no better and with a tendency for all that dark brick to look heavy and ominous, which I did not want. The little birdy clinches the composition.

I will be going out for a proper walk if the sun lasts and if I get anything substantially better, this may get replaced. But I like such understated geometric shots and so is likely to remain.

Have a great chocolatty Easter everybody - I'm going to be enjoying my Blackadder complete boxed set...still makes me laugh in all its ridiculousness and Rowan Atkinson has never been better. Hugh Laurie before he went to Hollywood too plus a more svelte Stephen Fry. And who cannot side with poor under-servant, the turnip-loving Baldrick. Sometimes unadulterated silliness is definitely the best medecine for all life's ills.... - along with Blip, of course!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.