Grey Heron

I saw the young one flying over as I arrived this morning and was surprised that she had landed beside the Greylags and ducks. When I got closer I saw that someone had thrown a pile of bread to the geese. The young one was picking bits up then dropping them (I think they probably looked like flakes of fish - I was pleased she wasn't eating any). As soon as I got close she wandered straight over and started eating her fish. However the Swans and Cygnets arrived, and whilst the swans held back one of the Cygnets was giving her hassle. She picked up a piece of fish and took off to the wooded area calling as she went.
I still had some fish left so went back that way when I went to buy Morag's food this afternoon. The young one was on her tree waiting. she flew over and had the rest of her fish. As I was emptying the excess water out her fish box she took of back to her tree.
I was struck again by how much she has changed since I first saw her, She is almost an adult now.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.