GrahamMcArthur

By GrahamMcArthur

O Great

I am without a shadow of a doubt a complete idiot!
Yesterday I happily clicked away thinking I was rather clever for once only to discover that not only was my lens dirty! A punishable offence in some cultures in which the perpetrator is whipped and beheaded 3 times a day for a week. But it gets worse for not only did I have an outbreak of dust all over my lens - but a hair!! My ancient version of photoshop (beta version of Photoshop minus point 001) and I, was put to the test. We both Failed. My copy of photoshop has been burnt and I go on trial tomorrow at 4pm.

Today after causing serious injury to my back from clearing dead pine trees from the back yard and removing inappropriate trees from the front yard, followed by murdering a giant bushy, weed thing that had strangled the dear old couple next door - and threatened to engulf the entire house - I took a pleasant drive to an interesting street I found on a previous outing in search of todays blip. I tooks lots of pics including some in bright colour (one here and another not here).
Again, rather chirpy about what I thought I had captured. Unfortunately I had forgotten to clean my lenses first...#!~*!! Idiot!!

Omega is the 24th and last letter of the Greek alphabet. Being plippers you will know this already. In the Greek numeric system, it has an ISO value of 800. The word literally means "great O" (O mega, mega meaning 'great'), as opposed to omicron, which means "little O" (o mikron, micron meaning "little").
Phonetically, the Ancient Greek o is a long open-mid o, equal to the vowel of British English raw, and we all know, you should always shoot in the raw.
In Modern Greek the letter omega is transcribed simply o.
Omega (the last letter of the Greek alphabet) is often used to denote the last, the end, or the ultimate limit of a set, in contrast to alpha, the first letter of the Greek alphabet.

Warning - I am a trained calligrapher and typographer, so please don't try this at home.

As it is Easter I suppose I should add that in the New Testament God declares himself to be the "Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, the first and the last." (Revelation 22:13, KJV).
Omega was also adopted into the early Cyrillic alphabet.
Omega was also adopted into the Latin alphabet, as a letter of the 1982 revision to the African reference alphabet. It has had little use, but it does show conclusively that we should steal from the Greeks at every opportunity and that I should not use the word should so often.
This of course has nothing to do with todays blip and should which should be ignored entirely.

Editors Note: I had go back and delete the pretty little omega letters because blip does not recognised them. and presented them as ?? which is perhaps prudent of blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.