Jja1987

By Jja1987

Temerity

I am baffled by people who have the temerity to call Lancaster a "city". It's not a city. It's a town with ideas above its station. I also think it's an incredibly ugly place - brief snatches of picturesque scenery punctuated by vast expanses of uninspired - and uninspiring - architecture. The Old Bus Depot is the only building in the whole "city" which I like.

This photo is the result of me having a look around to try and find something to photograph. Looking over a wall into the canal - a photo which I think sums up Lancaster. Very occasionally slightly pretty, often tragically banal.

But then this is the point of me starting on Blipfoto. We take photos of new things when we go on holiday and we often overlook what's around us. Maybe by forcing myself to look at this town that I have no love for, I'll eventually find something which speaks to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.