Elburg

And going home again.

I've posted backblips with the intention to write something about them, but bear with me.

It has been a glorious day weather-wise. However, after a four-hour bike ride, we took the train home from Zwolle. I appreciate the Netherlands as a beautiful cycling country with a lot of variety.  Because we have not only been to the coast or only inland, the variety was all the greater.  Today we cycled over the hills and through the forests of the Veluwe and also along the coast and through polders.

We have to rethink our experience with staying at addresses of the Friends on the Bicycle association because we feel uncomfortable with it. I don't like staying with people.  I rarely even did that as a kid.  Bert and I had difficulty with the obligatory ringing the bell at the hosts around 5 o'clock because we never know what delays we will encounter on the long distances we cycle.  We did not visit Amerongen Castle nor the museum in Spakenburg because we had to be on time.  That's a shame because we missed visiting both and also the freedom that a bike ride entails.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.