CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A late flowering bulb

I found that a stem had suddenly emerged from a bulb growing in a lonely pot in the garden. I brought it up near the house and when a flower head grew on the stem about a week ago I brought it inside to the dining room table where it could get maximum light and warmth.

Three days ago the first of eight flowers began to unfurl, followed by a second yesterday and the others will be open soon. It is a colourful delight especially as it was such a surprise to find it at all. I imagine it may be a lily but who knows. I'm hopeless at remembering names of anything.

The bluey-mauve background is provided by several streptocarpus flowers, which as always won't stop flowering. I now wish I'd spent a bit more time on this scene rather than my quick snap in the fading light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.