misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Into the Blimp!

This morning Peter is collecting his sap and using a very small air compressor to pump the sap from the blue drum into the 350 gallon (I think) capacity blimp-shaped traveling container. It is also made out of food-grade plastic and is strapped down on the back of the pick up truck.
Usually, around here we see these blimp-shaped containers made of metal and sitting in the backyards of people in the country who do not have access to gas lines. They hold propane gas. I have never seen one made of this material and certainly not used for tree sap. Do you have these blimps there too?
So, the cheerful young man is Peter, one of the owners. As soon as he saw me focusing on the truck and hose line, he crouched down to pose. I suspect he thinks I am a newspaper journalist and he's getting free advertising!
Well, off we go now to follow the Oxford maple syrup sap truck to the sugaring barn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.