Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

I awoke to rain this morning but nothing compared to the deluge that Cumbria, Scotland and the West Country had yesterday.
My plan was to drive to Richmond Park but, in the end I decided to return to Bushy Park for a few hours before the long journey home.

I  have been amazed by the laid back nature of all the birds and creatures that I have encountered, allowing me to get much closer than I've ever managed  in the Devon countryside. * I kept a very respectful distance from the deer and used my long lenses to get my shots

The light was terrible at first and I struggled to get enough exposure even at 12800 ISO. 
The rain had seemed to dampen the Red Deer's ardour as I only heard the occasional bellow and saw none of the frantic activity witnessed yesterday.
In fact I saw only a few stags.

However, the showers soon passed and the sun came out.

I could write reams about everything that I have witnessed both yesterday and today but will resist and just describe the relationship of these two fallow deer .
Out in the open, the doe spent half an hour persuading her guy that the time was right. She continually lifted her tail and positioned herself. He had a few attempts to mount her and this tender moment was during an interlude. I love the way he is looking sideways at her.
Finally, the surprisingly gentle mating took place and I was lucky enough to capture a series of images, some more graphic than others.
I've put one in extras
Meanwhile, less successful males were bellowing and postering and charging after each other and their various females.

I'm now home again after a nightmare journey down the A303. The road was giving a very good impression of a carpark west from Stonehenge!

Thank you for all the comments, stars and hearts for the bellowing red deer stag yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.