My Life Is Not Average

By melamny

Calculator

In S1 at school, I remember having a class discussion about whether calculators were animate or inanimate; my friend and I had named ours and another girl in our class was defending her calculator after the teacher said something derogatory about it. I think she claimed it was alive, but the teacher said that even so, "it doesn't have ears".

My first calculator in school was a Sharp - "be careful, it's Sharp" as the head of department used to say when handing them out - and then I had my sister's old TI-84+ graphical calculator. It was fantastic, and when I updated the operating system (the day before my advanced higher exam, and I managed to crash the calculator while doing so ...) it meant it could do calculus too. But in uni, we're only allowed these ones - Casio scientific calculators. No more plotting the graph on the calculator for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.