Frontier

By Frontier

Prussian Blue and Light Pole

Souldynamic - EQTRL ft. Roland Clark

Sometimes before going home I take a short time out in front of the convenience store for a smoke and a drink. The weather is cooler and crisper now. It’s nicer to breath and take stock of what happened today.

The sky looked nice also. Watched Independence Day on Disney+ which streamed in a now updated format. I don’t think I’ve seen it since when I was in high school. It blew my mind back then and I remember the hype being almost palpable in the air in between and during class. It was one of those films you HAD to see.

Looking back it’s definitely aged, particularly with hairstyles and colour choices, and it’s a little easier to spot the special effects shortcuts to establish scope and scale. Most of it still looked good though. I didn’t realise it at the time (my wife pointed it out also) there were a bunch of varied genre styles used. The dog fights were like Star Wars, the grotesque autopsy like Alien, a bit of Top Gun, and a whole lot of top shelf B-grade tropes. Of course it had them, it’s a front-loaded Hollywood blockbuster! It just didn’t have a hit song.

Nonetheless, I don’t care. I still enjoyed it after all this time, having hardcore flashbacks to when I watched it at the cinema and at home on laserdisc. It was always an event watching a movie in our household. Seeing it date made me feel a little sad and nostalgic. Ok interested in seeing the sequel for the special effects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.