Reading matter

I've been suffering a bit from sleeplessness recently, and have taken to reading to pass the time, even more than I normally do. Having worked my way through a bunch of recent purchases, I was at a bit of a loose end for reading material. That's when I spotted the Harry Potter books on one of my shelves. I took them down and re-read the first and the second, and was half way through the third when I got sidetracked, thanks to G's mention of Stieg Larsson. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo kept me going for a couple of days, and I managed to find The Girl who played with Fire to follow that with. (Both books were excellent, incidentally, so a big Thank You to G for the recommendation.)

That's when I went back to Harry Potter 3 and finished that, then the next one. That was as far as I'd got in terms of buying the books when they first came out, but I was so involved by this stage that I simply had to take a trip to a book shop for the fifth volume (... and The Order of the Phoenix). That's now been added to the pile of the recently-devoured. Now there's no escaping it: I just have to head for a book shop and continue the saga. I must say I've been pleasantly surprised now that I've gone back to this phenomenon. The third (... and the Prisoner of Azkaban) still strikes me as the weakest (the winding-up is far too convoluted for my liking), but the rest really is good stuff.

Apart from reading, and even a few productive hours of work, today's main business was watching the Bahrain Grand Prix. Conditions couldn't possibly have been more different from the earlier races -- dry and hot, with only one retirement -- and I'd have to be honest and say that the lack of rain and such-like resulted in a bit of a boring procession. All credit to jenson Button for a pretty brilliant overtake on Lewis Hamilton at the start of the second lap. This move proved crucial, especially when combined with spot-on strategy calls from Ross Brawn. So three out of four for Jenson, and another great day for Brawn Racing. Some consolation for Ferrari too: Kimi finished sixth and scored the team's first points of the season, saving the ignominy of starting 2009 with their worst start ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.