Snap, crackle, and pop

By marking_time

Photobombed

I have no Blip today, so here's a photo that I took this morning at Courpière for my Polarsteps record. I hadn't realised that it was photobombed by my dishy bloke.

We decided last night that we would do the last 300 odd kilometres to home today and take advantage of the lorries being off the road. We skipped our shower and looked forward to a bath at home. We packed up the washing up so it could go in the dishwasher when we got back. We missed breakfast in favour of stopping at the services on the Autoroute.

We started the engine and suddenly agreed that a four hour drive plus stopping time was just... a really silly idea.

We ended up around the halfway mark at a place called Néris-les-Bains, choosing a cross country route to get there. On the way it dawned on us that we hadn't eaten and would not now be stopping at the services. Happily we found a village car park to stop at and there was a good boulangerie right across the road. We had some excellent Croque Croissants.

The washing up was however still rattling about in the back of the van. We heated water when we landed here and I had to wash up before we could make dinner. The hot water meant that we could also catch up on the skipped shower.

It was blowing a gale here this afternoon, with a thunderstorm promised later, so we never got out to explore the town. So.... what with one thing and another, no photos other than documenting last night's stop. Not even a Dinner Blip or an Emergency Cat Blip. A funny old day.

160 Km or so to do to get us home tomorrow. I became very excited when I found out that we would be passing by Grand Frais at Montluçon but they are of course closed for tomorrow's holiday. Not sure what I shall be able to produce for a meal when we get home. Maybe I shall roast the cat, he has been a complete PITA this afternoon (the wind freaks him out).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.