hpx

By hpx

France 1918

If we ignore the small issue I didn't get my white balance right on the bottom image (and didn't correct it), this is both sides of a hand embroidered card sent by Granddad Boo to his mother and father during WW1.

"Feb 25, 1918

Dear Mother and Father,

Just a line to let you know that I am alright and hope that all at home are same. I haven't had any mail from you for about a month now, but there is a NZ mail in now, and some of the chaps have had some today. I will write again as soon as I get some.

With love to all from Alf xxxxxxxx"


Dad's sister, Fay sent me this a couple of years ago. I feel immensely privileged to have it.

Two more WW1 momentos to go, plus a surprise.

For those who didn't see yesterday's blip, I started this mini series with a piece of shrapnel (or maybe it's really lead shot) from farmland near Ypres.

Thank you for your interest and encouragement to show these. I was touched and amazed by your comments and fragments of your own historys shared.

I'd like to say I had a bright and brilliant day on the road to recovery, but I didn't. Nevermind, it will come and at least it was warm. For those following my post-surgery fashion crimes, today's was an old Thunder Birds t-shirt "Got the looks and the Brains". A gift and a long story.... ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.