Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Copping Rainbow Warrior

Sorry for the poor pun, but it's already tomorrow and my brain's not functioning well. It's been a long day too, because as the years pass I find it harder and harder to do the swift resetting of the body-clock and was wide awake at 6am. I decided that a week of inactivity had done some good in chasing off - more or less - The Cold, but had been dire for everything else, and took myself off to Pilates in the morning. It's amazing how that routine of stretching and strengthening makes the body feel much more in control, less prey to the depredations of the years - they're still there, but they don't take charge, so to speak.

While I was having coffee, I noticed a post on Facebook to the effect that the Greenpeace ship The Rainbow Warrior was heading up the Firth of Clyde towards Glasgow, and a swift check of my ship finder app showed me that she'd be coming into view from the infamous bedroom window within the next fifteen minutes. (The app also showed several unusual police boats around Gourock and Greenock, but then there was Something Going On just up the river ...) So today's photo is of Rainbow Warrior, under engines by the time she reached our bit of the Firth, heading serenely towards Glasgow and the leaders of (most of) the world.

It was all downhill after that. Himself has caught The Cold with much greater enthusiasm than even I did, and grew increasingly miserable as the day wore on, culminating in availing himself of the out-of-hours service after a phone call to NHS24 in - wait for it - Inverness. It works, though. 

It's been quite a day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.