La vida de Annie

By Annie

Ramblings and reflections on 100 consecutive blips

I think the Baftas have got to me, but I feel the need to make a big speech. This is completely out of character, and probably a dreadful idea, so if you were expecting a few witty lines and something rude about DZ, better quietly leave now.

Here goes.

100 at last: that's nothing to the majority of seasoned blippers on here, but perhaps it's the greatest journey blip-wise. From not knowing what to expect, through emergency (naff) blip days, disappointments when something you worked on for ages gets zero comments, whereas a rubbish image is an unexpected hit... It seems the words often get more comments than the picture, although I assume the thumbnail is what attracts views in the first place.

It took me a while to realise that this really is a community, albeit a virtual one, where popularity seems to be proportionate to the quantity and quality of your interaction with others, not just the excellence of the image, which is what I initially thought it was all about. Now I know that I can post a truly poo picture [note to self: blip some doggy-do] and some kind soul will seek out and enthuse over its merits. I don't mean this in a derogatory way; it's just that everyone seems so supportive, even if just tactfully looking the other way.

There is an obsessive element to Blip, and it's easy to let it take over, especially if you're that way inclined anyway. It's fascinating to get glimpses of other lives and countries, and tempting to reveal snippets about yourself, forgetting that your words can be viewed by anyone in the whole world. Scary stuff.

I don't see blipping as a competitive thing. I'll never get blip of the week, or be highly rated, and really don't mind. That sort of thing can raise expectations and add pressure, which is not what I want. Blip can be whatever you make it, whether just a journal for yourself and/or people you want to keep in touch with (beats the dreaded round-robin any day); a practice space for your creative skills, with useful feedback and tips available; a social networking facility; an organised way to force you to do more photography - essential, when all about us is changing; or in my case all of the above and also a form of therapy. Beats basket weaving.

After a mere 100 blips my conclusion is that this site is an international treasure. A gallery of images. An inspiration. Humanity described in all its heroics and frailties. We read about the ups and downs of daily life, the mundane, the delightful or the dreadful. Some of it we know personally and can relate to that, the rest we can participate in vicariously or empathise with the sufferer. I have seen many instances of people looking after disabled older parents, and can only imagine how I could have coped with that had my parents lived to old age. I see accounts of births and deaths and remember my own experiences of these. I have sent Reiki as far across the world as you can go. I have exchanged words with people of great talent, humour or both.

Thank you so much, Joe et al for creating and maintaining this facility. Thank you, Anne, for introducing me to it. Thank you, blippers everywhere, not just my subscribers and subscribees, but also those I haven't come across yet, or have seen but left no comment for whatever reason. You?re all absolutely great, guys, every last one of you.

Sending love and light,

Annie
X.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.