Beinghere

By Beinghere

Geordie at The Saltpans and Windmill

A quieter day for us today.
I missed Maggie this week, not because I was late home from Bruce’s, but because her Dad has Covid, and it’s best for me to avoid people with Covid because I have a lung condition, so I had to postpone Maggie day this week.

Poor Maggie could have done with her usual day with me because she arrived at nursery yesterday to be met by the male headteacher, who was running the nursery, due to all the nursery staff being off with Covid. Maggie can be a bit frightened of strange men. So that was a shock for her.

Public health say that the kids can go to nursery as normal, even though their teachers have Covid, and have been mixing with the kids.
Maggie’s mum, Suzy is a nurse working with elderly, vulnerable people, and although her husband has tested positive she’s been told she doesn’t need to isolate and should go to work as normal!

It’s pretty clear why the numbers of positive cases are increasing when nobody is told to isolate anymore. Track and Trace have given up. Suzy’s husband was asked for details of his contacts, but none of them have been informed.

It’s just survival of the fittest. Just natural selection. Got to get the country up and running again. The country can’t afford more absences from work.

I know I’m sounding cynical and bitter, but I am.
At least those of us who don’t work can decide for ourselves who we mix with, but that only works if we know whom among our friends and contacts has tested positive.

I know the economy is the focus and priority for the Government at the moment, but, as a retired nurse, I will always put health and well-being first.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.