Scapa Flow - Evening

I ask you.  About three minutes after getting up I returned to the bedroom.  The Current Mrs Creel was changing the sheets.  I started to help.  I couldn’t cope because I was on the wrong side.  We swapped sides.  It was then that it came: ‘I don’t think you’ve ever made a bed before’*. Forty five years later and now she tells me.  I didn’t have a strop but, apparently, I’ve signed on for a course.


After my easy-ozie breakfast (think kippers in a basket) I took my rasp and eased the door on the Bothy.  CMC cut some lino for the Bothy entrance.  I went and opened the newly arrived box of plants and bulbs. 


Evening, the day tucks itself into bed.


In 1950, the population of Helsinki was 365, 629. 


*Later, CMC explained I’d caught her in a weak moment as she’d lost her cigar box.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.