Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Ringing Off



In some respects, I almost wish I hadn't seen that ringed coot a few weeks ago. It has made me all 'pervy' as I now find myself ogling birds legs wherever I go!
First the coot, then came the greylag goose (which is still in the park along with the coot) and now today I spotted a black-headed gull with a metal ring.

I managed a photo from the front and another from the rear, giving me the start and end letters/digits of the ID but in both images, the middle section was round the curve and in the shade

I manoeuvred myself to try and get that missing section but the bird took off at the critical moment (see above).

I read on another website that Lithuanian birds that winter in W Europe usually head back home in early March. Maybe the cold spring has delayed its departure or perhaps the wind direction is unfavourable?
If this one hasn't already set off for its native Lithuania, then I shall attempt another go tomorrow.

As for the blip: I liked the shapes that the feet were making along with the sense of movement. So that's what you are getting instead of a whole bird just sitting looking pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.