Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Oak in the Car Park

I was stuck at my desk for almost 4 hours on a training course run by the Civil Contingencies Unit this morning.  It was a refresher for the Forward Control Officer course, something I probably last did 20 years ago before being trained in many other roles that someone at a local authority might need to do in case of an emergency like a rail crash, flooding, etc.

I was frustrated as the day started foggy, but then it turned to rain so I was glad I was indoors.  By lunchtime it had cleared and we even had a bit of sun so I grabbed the opportunity for a quick walk around the local park.  This oak looked magnificent despite the it probably suffering with lack of water and nutrients, stuck as it is in the middle of the car park.  There are plenty of dead branches on it, but those with leaves could not look more colourful in the sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.