Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

It's Friday, but Sunday's coming...

Some of the Christians among you will understand straight away what that phrase means. [Anyone heard of Tony Campolo?]

Today, after 2 years of talking about it, we finally visited Guildford Cathedral. It is set on top of a hill and can be seen from miles away. A large imposing building which you imagine because of it's red brick exterior, would look like most other Cathedrals, but nooooooooo... Guildford Cathedral is totally different!

Firstly it is flooded with light mainly because the large windows don't have stained glass to hinder the light. It is beautifully simple, really well laid out, and very very inviting. We entered through the main door and this was the first view I saw. In the foreground is a sculpture called "Jesus Rests" by Nic Fiddian-Green and is on loan until tomorrow! It is really stunning and is surrounded by the barrier to protect the public as the thorns are REALLY sharp. SO glad we went today.

We were there about an hour before the 3 hour Good Friday service was due to begin having already decided we would go to the service at the local church. Their service started at 2pm and was scheduled to be held at the "old church" in Albury. After a bit of searching, we managed to locate the "old church" and got there just a few minutes late. We were sent right to the front for this. (Argh!) Sat down and I soon noticed that there was er... NO HEATING!!! Wow. A building made completely of stone and no signs of any form of heating anywhere! The service itself was really well and carefully planned and was very thought-provoking. (When I wasn't thinking of how cold I was i.e.!!)

We've had hot cross buns! Something that always reminds me of my Dad as he woke early and delivered all 3 of us girls hot cross buns early on Good Friday. I joined Blipfoto on Good Friday last year! I am rapidly approaching my one year anniversary.

I've also been listening to my favourite artist Rich Mullins whilst driving... much inspired...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.