Grey Heron

As I approached the loch this morning I saw the young one on the viewing platform. When she saw me she jumped down into the water, changed her mind and flew over onto the grass and waked towards me. She obviously found it easier eating from the grass yesterday rather than the path. I had just got started when a dog got close and she was off back to the loch edge over the fence (I have to admit I feel happier having a fence between her and the dogs). As she landed she looked over to see that I was following. I went over and gave her the rest of her fish.
At that point I noticed an elderly woman had been watching. She said she had seen me before feeding the young one and asked what I fed her. She then told me that she usually went for her walk much earlier than today and that the young one is nearly always on the viewing platform waiting for me arriving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.