Fascination

On This Day In History
1922: Entrance to King Tut's tomb discovered

Quote Of The Day
"As my eyes grew accustomed to the light, details of the room within emerged slowly from the mist; strange animals, statues and gold - everywhere the glint of gold."
(Howard Carter)

My previous read, Stephen Baxter's Bronze Summer, was a bit of a chore, to be honest. I prefer Baxter's science fiction. One of my mother's favourite book series was Jean M. Auel's Clan Of The Bear, and parallels were drawn between that series and Baxter's trilogy. I wasn’t keen on Auel’s books either. I don't think I will read any of the other books.

This book, which I began reading yesterday, is far more compelling. Isn't it interesting how fascinated we are by who is the fastest man in the world? And I can't help wondering, why are we not similarly fascinated by who is the fastest woman in the world?

Gold

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.