A visit to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park

A visit with my sister yesterday.  The park was very quiet  and a number of the exhibitions that my sister wanted to see were not actually open.  So mainly we walked, though we did visit the Joana Vasconcelos exhibition in the underground gallery and Annie Morris exhibition in the Weston Gallery.  I was trying to think of the connection that the Annie Morris drawing made for me and couldn’t remember her name.  It was Paula Rego.  There was something about the nightmare scenario conjured up by the characters that made me think of some of her work.  Maybe not a direct comparison, but I think all artists carry a portfolio of other peoples artwork in their heads and sometimes these images reappear in their images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.