Plus ça change...

By SooB

Hot stuff

Up early for work, then trying (ineffectually) to sound professional on a call while feeling slightly carsick on a drive to Herefordshire.

The end point of the drive was the fabulous Oldfield Forge where you can make swords, pokers, and any other metal thing that takes your fancy. CarbBoy has been asking for years for a forge of his own (actually he wanted to build one from bits and bobs, which made me nervous) and just before Covid hit he was scheduled to intern at a local foundry. So today he was guided by a fabulously helpful and fun team to make a knife (a Tanto I think).

Meanwhile, they very kindly set me up at a desk in their shop (with wifi) so I could work in between popping in to take photos. I'm not sure my presence was very helpful - especially not the shrieking that time Conor dropped his knife - that earned me some very rolling eyes).

Anyway, a fabulous experience for him, and heartily recommended.

Later, home for a take-out extravaganza and some lazy TV.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.