An Aeolian Harp In The Gardens

We ventured to Edinburgh by car. Pat is attending a life drawing class at the Scottish Arts Club. I have planned a trip to the Botanic Gardens.

After dropping Pat in Rutland Square I drove to the Gardens and parked the car nearby.

Parking in Edinburgh is expensive: 5 times the rate in St Andrews. 

After a Mocha and a rather excellent Brownie in the John Hope Gateway Building I spent some three hours or so just exploring the gardens and taking over 50 photographs.

The gardens have changed quite a lot since I last visited and there are many sculptures and shrines to see.

The main photo shows the Aeolian Wind Harp. This instrument is probably about 2 metres tall. The day was calm and very sunny; a day to gladden the spirit.

No wind means the Harp was silent.

The extras show other structures and a view of part of the Chinese Garden.

I returned to Rutland Square to rendezvous with Pat. We then headed to "The Colonies" to rendezvous with Jane M who we have known for nearly 40 years and enjoyed a fine repast and chat.

Afterwards we explored the Leith Water Walk in the rapidly darkening evening.

Saying our goodbyes Pat and I then drove home.

Much has changed in Edinburgh over the last two years. Traffic is busy and the road signs remain as confusing as they always were.

However, we had a great day and I was surprised to find that I had walked some 22000 steps which is just under 9 miles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.