Thoughtful

Late last evening I received a SMS to say my order hard arrived, so this morning we went to get galettes for lunch and my new Canon PowerShot G5X mk II camera.

After lunch I took the dog for a walk and this is my first blip with my new camera. Annoyingly Canon have updated their RAW format from CR2 to CR3 spec, and because they play secret squirrel with it, opening and viewing the files under Linux is more convoluted.

The standard viewer I use can't read the files, so I need to remember to save them with JPEGs as well to know which is which. RawTherapee can process the files, but can't read any of the EXIF tag data - so I can load them into GIMP, but now with no EXIF detail. The separate EXIF program I use can read them which is good, but it's not integrated so more manual faffing...

The open-source options will catchup, but I'll have a year of pain to put up with in the interim... The dog doesn't care though, as long as he gets a walk! Today there was a dog school, so to avoid disturbing them, we went backwards round the walk, so we could give them a wide berth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.