Walkers, Muddy Boots and Dogs Welcome

First we walked along the Macclesfield canal until the rain got too heavy, then it eased off, so we walked along the old railway until it got too heavy again, gave up and went in to The Boars Head (no apostrophe, as far as I could see) for a typical English lunch - I had scampi and chips, with mushy peas, yum. Then we tried again, and walked up to the back gate of Lyme Park - was lovely to be greeted by the pub, all lit up when we got back, damp and a bit cold, to where Tom had parked their car.

When I first came from Brazil, as a 15yr old, I really couldn't understand the British habit of deliberately going out on walks in weather like this. I mean, I'd walk all day across the Amazon forest, raining or not, up and down watersheds, but it was to reach another village, not for fun.

Anyway, love it now, and disappointed we weren't better kitted out to walk further.

Gratefuls:
- northerners, so friendly and love the accent
- Tom driving us past the two houses Mike grew up in, in Woodford and Bramhall, both altered, but recognizable
- getting back to a warm flat, hot tea and mince pies (bit early, but won't get them in Portugal unless I make them myself)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.