Not a Lichen

Spotted this beauty on our walk this morning. The heaviness of all the recent rains is bringing down dead branches and this colorful organism road a dead oak limb down to the street. At first glance I thought 'lichen',  but actually it/they is/are Crowded Parchment Fungi Stereum complicatum. I really love it's name!
I received my second shot of Shingrix (Zoster Vaccine-Recombinant) yesterday. I had a slight, very slight case of Shingles a couple of years ago and decided that I would do anything to avoid the pain and suffering of a full blown infection! I looked up the possible 'side effects' of the vaccination and sure enough...muscle soreness and tiredness were right there. I could hardly get out of bed this morning! A couple of OTC pain relievers and I'm feeling much more like myself! So that's 6 shots in 6 months! Three Moderna, two Shingrix and one Flu shot. Yikes! Enough already! Reminds me of what C & I went through for our trip to Africa, but that's a story for another time. Hope your weekend is going well! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.