Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Oakfields

This is literally the only photo I took today. It was a very nippy morning - just maybe a skosh above freezing when we left the house. The horses, four of the five, that stay in this particular field were good enough to grace this morning's version of this view. They have lately been the recipients of carrots when they are close enough to the fence to respond to my summonings. But then they are mean to each other about it, so it's always sort of fraught. One of the white ones is clearly the top of the pecking order. 

Our original carrot pair have gone from where they were - back to where they were before that, one supposes. Their owners keep their horses mostly at someone else's place because they're trying to develop a good pasture at their place which they bought and moved into about four years ago and then promptly cut down all the woods to make pasture for horses. It's taking a while to get the grass established satisfactorily, I guess. My understanding is that they moved the pair in briefly because of something that was going on at the other place, but now they've been shifted back. We miss them. But we're making do with these others. And when I say "we" I mostly me "I."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.