Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

And so we wait.....

.......but unlike the disciples after the death of Jesus, we aren't waiting behind locked doors in fear.

However, I have just been reading about North Korea where life is very tough, poverty is a way of life, famine is rife and where an estimated 3 million people have died of starvation since the early 1990s. They do not have freedom of expression, as we do, and the media and access to the internet is controlled by the authorities.

Christian believers have been forced to go "underground" and like the disciples, they probably hide behind locked doors for fear of what might happen to them and their families if they are discovered. Many are persecuted, imprisoned or even martyred.

And while all this is going on, I am thinking about, and waiting to eat, my chocolate! I feel very shallow and humbled today and my hope is that I may be more committed to praying for those whose lives are far worse than mine.

I am truly grateful that friends have given me flowers and chocolate and hope that on this day of waiting between Good Friday and Easter Day I will remember those who are waiting and hoping for very different things - for food, for rescue, for release, for a better life.

This song, by the Annie Moses Band, always makes me think - but this version is particularly moving.
Were You There When They Crucified my Lord?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.