Transitoire

By Transitoire

Les Petites Douceurs

The little comforts.


So comme d'habitude the trams are playing silly buggers, so to the bus I went. Somehow I now have rather a lot of affection for those buses...I mean, who wouldn't choose a tram over a bus? I think it's something to do with their reliability that gets me....

So I had one lesson in school day, on my own with some of the troisième INTER students. I say "some", I ended up with one! However, this worked really really well and we got a lot of work done that I wouldn't've been able to do with the three I would normally have. So one of the themes for their dossiers for their exposé orale is 'Black in a White World', and they had not had enough time to work properly on the speech by Martin Luther King. Now I have to admit, the first time I read it through I was ever so slightly winging it, as I had never actually read 'I have a dream' in its full version! Of course, I knew the themes and I could quote sections, but I had never done it in an academic sense. Nothing like working off the bat! We ended up discussing the use of repetition, first person plurals and natural imagery...and it went rather well I would say!

My second lesson was my two hours with my private student...and we raced through the mountain of work that I had given her to do! I'm getting to the point that I'm running out of certain things to give her...and I just haven't had time to think about exciting new things as I've been so busy. On verra.

So in this picture are the beautiful Claire and Laura; Laura is telling Claire about the origins of her gold necklace. The gold actually came from the fillings in her grandmother's teeth...her grandmother gave one to her and one to her cousin so they would always have a little bit of her with them. Really really cute or morbid...guess it just depends what way you want to look at it! We went into this really cute little tea shop called Les Petites Douceurs, think Cath Kidson-esque china and really nice cakes and you get the idea! Claire and I then went and did a little retail therapy (well, the shops have the new Spring collections even if it feels like the depths of Winter!) before meeting up with Becky for dinner at Les Touristes. Even though I had been in the centre-ville since the beginning of the afternoon, my evening was not over yet as I went to meet Mathieu for a few drinks at Café Latin. Lovely day, and I cannot wait for the Carnaval tomorrow, it is going to be awesome.

In other news, words I learnt today:-
- Wings - les ailes
- Beak - le bec
- Tail - la queue
- Claws - les griffes
- Flippers (like on a duck!) - les palmes
- Talons - les serres
- Crest - la crête
- Nose - la truffe
- Shell - la carapace
- Snout - le groin
- Mane - la crinière
- Mouth - la gueule
- Trunk - la trompe
- Antlers - la ramure
- Muzzle - le museau
- Hooves - les sabots
- Horns - les cornes
- Gills - les branchies
- Dorsal fin - l'aileron
- Fin - le nageoire

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.