ruth_cph

By ruth_mottram

Climate March in Copenhagen

Went to the climate march yesterday, I've attended every year the last few years, yesterday there must have been several thousand other people marching through the city. It was strangely moving to be part of such a mass of people.
I snapped this on Strøget, the tower is the 800 year old Sankt Nicolaj Kirke, now a contemporary art gallery. It's one of the oldest existing buildings in the city and close to the centre.
I sometimes think that we should think of our cities on this kind of timescale rather than the human one. With the COP26 going on, the choices made there and over the next few years could very well.determine if the Nicolaj Kirke is still standing in another 800 years or if it and the rest of Copenhagen has been abandoned to the rising sea..

I never went on any marches until I moved to Denmark, I wasn't particularly politically active in the UK either (I'm still not really, though I have opinions). But I seem to have been radicalized in Denmark in some way - participatory democracy is quite a drug apparently! Or maybe I'm just getting older?

Anyway, there was a huge range in the type of people who go, all ages and backgrounds. It's inspiring and gives me hope that we will so something about climate change. Hope is sometimes depleted in my day job as a climate scientist so I think it's important to find ways to recharge.

The extras are also quick snaps from the march, as I posted on Twitter- there is another example.of something you can do with a cargo bike but you can't with a car...
The Klimanødsituation was another quite moving installation, set up by de grønne studentbevægelse (The Green student movement). In person it was impressive but I couldn't get a clear shot of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.