Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Long time, no see

(7/11/21)

Thursday, and it's the end of the week! I decided to go into the office, just for the morning, only to find very few people there. I was told they were either travelling, working from home or helping with workshops on the last day of a flagship event. Hmmm. I called the last salon that Elvie worked in and managed to get a haircut appointment in the afternoon.

The person I wanted to see said they would be in by noon, so I figured I could switch the day around by doing the invoices first. Come noon, and I found out A was delayed and wasn't sure if/when he will be in the office, so I did what I could until G picked me up, and I finally had my hair cut; by a man for a change! (Decades ago, a new law stated that men could not cut women's hair and vice versa). Things are easing now. G was happy with the result. I just wanted to do something "normal" after a very stressful week, so we went to the Sol Sky Bar after AGES; I think it was July that we were last there.

It has changed a lot. It was heaving with guests, and they had a live singer. The view is just as good and the service just as bad, so we didn't hang around. We had coffee and cake in Chapters downstairs before enjoying a stroll along the promenade. We saw some local musicians getting ready to do a gig and waited for them but after forty minutes reckoned there were other things we could be doing, so headed back to the car.

G spotted a restaurant with an incredible deal for a three-course meal, so we had dinner. My extra is the view I had. It was good to be home at the end of a long day. And because it is Diwali, we kept hearing firecrackers going off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.