We are back!

As in Ben and his Nana!

In discussions with folks a wee while ago asking what would be the first place you go to when travelling again, I did say Lisbon would be the first place but didn’t know for sure I would. Decided a few weeks ago that I needed to get away as I had itchy feet and it was suggested that I take Ben with me instead of going alone! Great idea! I would have gone alone but having Ben with me is perfect.
Been following the weather in Lisbon and I’ve noticed that today and all week it’s wall to wall sunshine around 20 degrees.

Despite only getting 2 hours sleep last night I’ve walked 23k steps - we are staying at the modern part Parque das nacoes which was only three stops in the metro from the airport. It was all new doing all this myself (with Ben’s help) but we got our travel card from the machine at the metro loaded up with euros, we were three stops to Oriente where our hotel was right slap bang at the edge of the station! We are on the 13th floor of 16 (where there is a Sky Bar). We wandered into the shopping centre for some food in the food hall which has many options. We sat outside overlooking the river - it was so good having the warm sun in our faces. Started off wandering around the Parque das Nacoes then ended up getting the metro to Rossio, changing from the re to the green line at Alameda! Walked down Rua Augusta towards Commercio square to the urban beach which was absolutely buzzing with music and people. The view was glorious over to the 25 April Bridge which resembles the Golden Gate Bridge in San Fran and then walked down to the port which has had a makeover since 2018! Can’t believe the difference.

We have a pool in the hotel and Ben is currently throwing himself about while I am slowly getting more and more tired

A full day tomorrow. Up and at em early no doubt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.