Never ignore a good murmuring

I mentioned a while ago my decision to buy wines I'd never heard of, with labels that amused me, assisted all the while by constructive murmurings from a staff member.

This fresh, tangy vinho verde comes from vineyards in the regions of Alenquer and Cadaval, in the mountains north of Lisboa (it says here). The label (it says elsewhere) is by Hauke Vagt, "an eccentric German artist" who lives locally.

The cat is obviously essential to the whole concept (see extras). I trust she is singing Fado, a fabulous musical form which, if you haven't tried it yet, will repay your time. Not just the singing style, which knocks the Blues into a cocked hat, but also the sound of a Portuguese guitar.

Amazing what pleasure you can derive from a bit of murmuring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.