Coming home

After briefly tutoring on line, I walked in to Arnavutkoy late morning for some basic provisions and to take a few photos of the old wooden Ottoman houses.

Today at Robert College, Istanbul, was 'homecoming' day - when graduates all return to their alma mater. The oldest 'student' in attendance, was a gentleman who graduated in 1951 !!  The furthest travelled for the event was from the US. Significantly for me, my first 'homecoming' as a retired teacher.  (There was no event last year due to covid). To be greeted by so many ex students was just wonderful, especially all the artists, the students who came with me to St Petersburg and/or The Hague for Model United Nations conferences over the years, and most especially those musicians who performed in Lise Live - bi-annual event and topic for my blip journal, sadly, not happened since November 2019.  

After the official short ceremony (extra) and I'd spoken to various people,  I went to Akmerkez for early dinner at Midpoint with Sarah, joined by Sean, and new teachers (who now live in 'my' apartment so often Blipped in the past) - before going to the cinema where we were also joined by Courtney and Jon, to see Dune. Wow. What a movie!  Think I need to see it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.